Zone of the Marvellous: In Search of the Antipodes

Author(s): Martin Edmond

New Zealand Literature

In the tradition of Dava Sobel and Longitude, award-winning writer Martin Edmond uses his extraordinary intellectual breadth and imaginative reach to elegantly and lucidly execute his most ambitious project to date - the history of 4,000 years of the Western imagination and the Antipodes, Great Southern Land, Zone of the Marvellous.


Product Information

Ohakune-born Martin Edmond is now based in Sydney but is often in New Zealand. Four of his books have been shortlisted in the national book awards; his Chronicle of the Unsung won the biography category of the 2005 Montana NZ Book Awards. He was the 2004 Writing Fellow at The University of Auckland and in 2007 won a CLL Writers' Award of $35,000 to support writing Zone of the Marvellous.

Introduction -- 1. Ancient Voices -- 2. Mt Purgatory -- 3. Jewelled Sands -- 4. Utopian Projections -- 5. Isles of Disappointment -- 6. Lost Tribes -- 7. Yonaguni, Ulimaroa & Other Enigmas -- 8. After Erewhon -- Notes on Sources.

General Fields

  • : 9781869404475
  • : Auckland University Press
  • : Auckland University Press
  • : September 2009
  • : 210mm X 140mm
  • : New Zealand
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : illustrations, maps
  • : Martin Edmond
  • : Paperback
  • : 1st Edition
  • : Very Good
  • : 242