SF Gateway Omnibus: Big Planet, The Blue World, The Dragon Masters and Other Stories

Author(s): Jack Vance

Science Fiction & Fantasy

From the SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic science fiction and fantasy titles ever assembled, comes an ideal sample introduction to the fantastic work of Jack Vance, one of the field's most beloved authors. Highly acclaimed, Jack Vance has won and been nominated for the HUGO, NEBULA and WORLD FANTASY AWARDs among many others, and in 1997 was named a Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master. This omnibus contains the novels BIG PLANET, which revolutionised the planetary romance, THE BLUE WORLD, and the collection, THE DRAGON MASTERS AND OTHER STORIES, the title story of which won the HUGO AWARD FOR SHORT FICTION.

Product Information

From the groundbreaking digital initiative the SF Gateway, two novels and a story collection from the SFWA grand master of science fiction, Jack Vance. A perfect introduction to one of the greats of science fiction and fantasy.

Jack Vance was born in 1916 and studied mining, engineering and journalism at the University of California. During the Second World War he served in the merchant navy and was torpedoed twice. He started contributing stories to the pulp magazines in the mid 1940s and published his first book, THE DYING EARTH in 1950. Among his many books are THE DRAGON MASTERS, for which he won his first HUGO AWARD, BIG PLANET, THE ANOME, and the Lyonesse sequence. He has won the HUGO, NEBULA and WORLD FANTASY AWARDs, amongst others, and in 1997 was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America.

General Fields

  • : 9780575103177
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Gollancz
  • : 0.604
  • : October 2013
  • : 253mm X 159mm X 34mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jack Vance
  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : very good
  • : 464