Medical Muses: Hysteria in Nineteenth-Century Paris

Author(s): Asti Hustvedt

Psychology | Europe

Hysteria as a disease no longer exists, but in the nineteenth century hysteria was thought to affect half of all women in one of its myriad forms. In 1862 the famous and infamous Salpetriere Hospital in Paris, under the reign of renowned neurologist Jean-Martin Charcot, became the focal point for study of the mysterious illness. Physicians could find no cause, which meant a cure was not possible, but Charcot concentrated on treating the symptoms; with hypnosis, gongs, tuning forks, piercing and the evocation of demons and saints. Charcot's studies at the hospital were controversial, and brought him into conflict with the church as well as his colleagues. But despite this, Charcot was known as hysteria's ultimate authority and his experiments became both a fascinating and a fashionable spectacle. The women were photographed, sculpted, painted and sketched, and demonstrations attracted eager crowds of medical students, physicians, writers, artists and socialites. Medical Muses tells the stories of Blanche, Augustine and Genevieve, young women who found themselves in Charcot's ward as medical celebrities. But who were they? What were they suffering from? And what role did they play in their own curious celebrity? The stories of these women, and in fact, of all of the women institutionalised for hysteria in the Salpetriere, have never been fully told. Theirs is a strange tale of science and ideology, medicine and the occult, of hypnotism, sadism, love and theatre. Combing hospital records, municipal archives, memoirs and letters, Asti Hustvedt uncovers fascinating new material and sheds new light on a crucial moment in psychiatric history.


Product Information

For fans of Elaine Showalter and Janet Malcolm. Asti is the sister of Siri Hustvedt, whose book What I Loved is based on Asti's research. For anyone interested in women's history and the history of psychiatry.

Asti Hustvedt is an independent scholar who has written extensively on hysteria and literature. She has a Ph.D in French literature from New York University, is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, and the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including a Phi Betta Kapa Fellowship. She is the editor of The Decadent Reader: Fiction, Fantasy and Perversion from Fin-de-Siecle France and has published many translations. She lives in New York City.

General Fields

  • : 9781408815120
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : April 2011
  • : 216mm X 135mm X 27mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Asti Hustvedt
  • : Paperback
  • : Export ed
  • : English
  • : good
  • : 384