Sherlock Holmes The Complete Novels and Stories Volume I & Volume II

Author(s): Sir Doyle

Popular Fiction

The eccentric detective Sherlock Holmes with the aid of Dr. Watson investigates strange and baffling mysteries.

2 volume set

Product Information

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born on May 22, 1859 in Edinburgh. He studied medicine at the University of Edinburgh and began to write stories while he was a student. Over his life he produced more than thirty books, 150 short stories, poems, plays and essays across a wide range of genres. His most famous creation is the detective Sherlock Holmes, who he introduced in his first novel A Study in Scarlet (1887). This was followed in 1889 by an historical novel, Micah Clarke. In 1893 Conan Doyle published 'The Final Problem' in which he killed off his famous detective so that he could turn his attention more towards historical fiction. However Holmes was so popular that Conan Doyle eventually relented and published The Hound of the Baskervilles in 1901. The events of the The Hound of the Baskervilles are set before those of 'The Final Problem' but in 1903 new Sherlock Holmes stories began to appear that revealed that the detective had not died after all. He was finally retired in 1927. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle died on July 7, 1930.

General Fields

  • : 9780553212419
  • : Random House Publishing Group
  • : Bantam USA
  • : 0.498
  • : January 1920
  • : 174mm X 108mm X 46mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Sir Doyle
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : very good
  • : 1059+737