Henrik Ibsen - Four Major Plays

Author(s): Henrik Ibsen


This is a collection of four of Ibsen's major plays: "A Doll's House"; "Ghosts"; "Hedda Gabler"; and "The Master Builder".

Bookplate inside cover

Product Information

"A very well done introduction, together with a compact and convenient collection of plays."--Jan Gorak, University of Denver
"James McFarlane's introduction is exemplary and his translation masterful. A pleasure to read!"--Brice Thompson, University of California, Santa Cruz
"By far the best translation of Ibsen available. Every detail in an Ibsen play is important; every detail and most manners of the Norwegian are accuretly recaptured in these masterly translations."--Simon Williams, University of California, Santa Barbara
"A fine, lively translation of these classics. Also, it is great to have these particular four Ibsen plays in one volume."--Harold J. Baxter, Ph.D., Trinity College
"The McFarlane translation was a pleasant surprise. Having used various translators and editions, I'll stop here, content, well-content with content and format."--Reg Saner, University of Colorado (I just enter 'em)
"These excellent and beautifully rendered plays make accessible to students a variety of themes - late 19th century feminism, the overbearing bourgeois society - at an affordable price."--Barbara B. Davis, Antioch College


A Doll's House; Ghosts; Hedda Gabler; The Master Builder

General Fields

  • : 9780192833877
  • : Oxford University Press
  • : Oxford University Press
  • : 0.305
  • : March 1998
  • : 196mm X 129mm X 17mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Henrik Ibsen
  • : Paperback
  • : good-very good
  • : 355